top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Freedman

CHANIA LOCKED DOWN, MARCH 2020

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

by John Freedman

Originally published elsewhere March 30, 2020

Republished on Contemplating Crete April 10, 2021


I have been a good citizen and neighbor, holing up in my Koum Kapi apartment for two weeks now – as much to protect others from my possible contamination as to look after my own health. I had been out only once for 7 minutes to a food store five doors down from me. But today I not only began feeling the “call of the wild,” I began to realize if I didn’t get out and get some exercise, I would die from inaction rather than some nasty virus. My wife Oksana and I filled out the cards the government requires of anyone going outdoors, informing all who might stop us that we were taking a walk for the sake of our health, and we headed out. I’ll admit it, I was pooped by the time we got home. Two weeks of 9-second walks around my apartment had not prepared me for today’s 90-minute jaunt. There were not many people out there, and everyone was pretty good at giving each other a wide berth when we passed each other. Some would see us coming and would cross the street to avoid us – or maybe I’m just looking frighteningly unkempt after two solid weeks at home… First reactions: Chania is as beautiful as ever, empty or packed. You can’t hide that kind of beauty. But there is a sadness in the air that cannot be dispersed. People are suffering, either physically or mentally or financially. It’s true that Crete continues to be extraordinarily fortunate, with just eight cases of the virus and one death, but still, so many of our fellow citizens around the world are dying. It is devastating to see that happen. It is hard to know that all the shop owners in Chania, like those all over the world, are falling deeper and deeper into financial crisis, the longer this lockdown goes on. I’m not arguing against the lockdown – it’s what we must do to protect our selves and our neighbors. But that necessary step brings with it true hardship. So many of Chania’s store owners and restaurateurs have become personal friends in our time living here – I hate to see them put into such a difficult situation. Today as I walked around I passed on mental hellos to all the friends and strangers who usually keep life rolling in Chania. May we beat this nasty, evil plague that is circling the globe today, and may our lives get back to normal soon. Wishing all readers the very best, wherever you may be. Stay healthy, and then come back to a healthy Chania. It will happen. Text and photos Copyright John Freedman © 2020. Copyright renewed © 2021.

















Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page